Strawberry How Nursery School

Strawberry How Road, Cockermouth, CA13 9XQ (MAP) Tel: 01900 823322 Fax: 01900 823322   Email:

The Seven Areas of Learning

E-mail Print

In Ofsted speak there are seven areas of learning that chart a child’s development from Birth to 5 years old. The learning objectives from the adult led activities are taken from the development stages within each of the seven areas so your child’s development is charted through each area.  Some nursersies simplistically define a child's day via these areas.  In reality our notion of child development recognises that the process is more holistic than this and our structures are therefore integrated opportunities for children to develop concurrently. As a reference the seven areas of learning are:
Prime Areas (these are the main areas of development from birth to two years)

1.    Personal, Social and Emotional Development

        •   Making relationships
        •   Self confidence and self-awareness
        •   Managing feelings and behaviour

2.    Physical Development
     •    Moving and handling

        •    Health and self-care

3.    Communication and Language

        •    Listening and attention
        •    Understanding
        •    Speaking

Specific Areas (these are the main areas of development to compliment and support the Prime Areas from 2 - 5 years)

4.    Literacy

       •   Reading

       •    Writing
5.    Mathematics

       •    Numbers

       •    Shape, space and measure 

6.    Understanding the World

       •    People and communities
       •    The World
7.    Expressive Arts and Design
       •    Exploring and using media and materials
       •    Being imaginative
Characteristics of Effective Learning 
To enable a child to become an effective learner the Early Years Foundation Stage identifies three inter-changable characteristics which help children to learn. Being aware of these charactercistics enables the adult to support and extend a child's learning whilst the child is involved in an activity or at play in the Nursery. The three characteristics are as follows: 
Playing and Exploring - engagement
Finding out and exploring
Playing with what they know
Being willing to 'have a go' 
Active Learning - motivation
Being involved and concentrating
Keeping trying
Enjoying achieving what they set out to do 
Creating and Thinking Critically      
Having their own ideas
Making links
Choosing ways to do things
Children develop at their own rates, and in their own way. The development statements from the EYFS and their order are not taken as necessary steps for individual children. They are not used as a checklist and the age/stage bands overlap because they are not fixed age boundaries but suggest a typical range of development.


You are here: Home Learning Through Play The Seven Areas of Learning

who's online

We have 18 guests online